Reader's Digest Most Trusted New Zealanders 2014 list released


Reader's Digest has released its annual list of Most Trusted New Zealanders.

Topping this year's list is NZ's most decorated soldier Willie Apiata, who moves up a place from last year's list.

The good doctor Lance O'Sullivan, New Zealander of the Year 2014 came in at number two, with captain of the All Blacks Richie McCaw at three.

There was even a place on the list for RadioLIVE Breakfast host Marcus Lush.

The full is as follows:

1. Willie Apiata VC, solider

2. Lance O'Sullivan, doctor, 2014 New Zealander of the Year

3. Richie McCaw, All Blacks captain

4. Judy Bailey, charity worker

5. John Kirwan, former All Black player

6. Kevin Milne, former TV host

7. Valerie Adams (formerly Vili), shot-putter

8. Jim Hickey, TV weather presenter

9. Alison Holst, food writer

10. Peter Snell, former athlete

11. Peter Leitch, businessman, charity worker

12. Jerry Mateparae, Governor-General

13. Peter Jackson, film director

13. Dan Carter, All Black player

15. Sarah Ulmer, cyclist

15. Colin Meads, former All Black

17. Sam Johnson, leader of Student Volunteer Army

18. Hamish Bond, rower, Olympic gold medalist

18. Brian Lochore, former All Black captain and coach

20. John Campbell, TV journalist

21. Graham Henry, former All Black coach

21. Dave Dobbyn, musician

23. Mike McRoberts, TV journalist

23. Mahe Drysdale, rower

23. John Walker, former athlete

23. Jo Seagar, chef

27. Toni Street, TV presenter

27. Nigel Latta, psychologist

27. Stephen Tindall, businessman

30. Lisa Carrington, rower

31. Eric Murray, rower, Olympic gold medallist

32. Ian Grant, parenting expert

33. Sian Elias, chief justice of New Zealand

33. Sue Chetwin, CEO Consumer NZ

35. Sir Ray Avery, scientist, businessman and philanthropist

36. Dean Barker, yachtsman and Team NZ skipper

36. Neil Finn, musician

36. Simon Barnett, TV and radio presenter

37. Simon Dallow, TV presenter

36. Annabel Langbein, cookbook author, TV personality

36. Brendon McCallum, Black Caps captain

36. Rhys Darby, actor, comedian

36. Pippa Wetzell, TV host

44. Scott Dixon, IndyCar driver

45. Stephen Donald, All Black player

46. Peter Gluckman, scientist

47. The Topp Twins, entertainers

48. Susan Devoy, Race Relations Commissioner

49. Peta Mathias, chef

50. Simon Gault, chef

51. Bret McKenzie, comedian, musician

51. Jemaine Clement, comedian, musician

51. Jim Mora, radio personality

54. John Graham, former All Black, educator

55. Richard Taylor, filmmaker

56. Helen Clark, former Prime Minister

57. Jonah Lomu, former All Black

58. Kiri Te Kanawa, opera singer

59. Robyn Malcolm, actor

60. Te Radar, comedian, TV personality

61. Ella Yelich-Oâ Connor (Lorde), singer

62. Garth McVicar, Sensible Sentencing Trust spokesman

62. Polly Gillespie, radio personality

64. Tony Kokshoorn, Grey District Mayor

65. Chris Cairns, former cricketer

66. Ruben Wiki, former rugby league player

67. Wendyl Nissen, columnist and author

68. Mary Holm, financial writer and newspaper columnist

69. Rosie Horton, philanthropist

69. Anne Salmond, writer, anthropologist

71. Lucy Lawless, actor

72. Lianne Dalziel, Christchurch mayor

73. Kim Hill, radio journalist

74. Alan Gibbs, entrepreneur

75. Mike Hosking, TV and radio journalist

76. Marcus Lush, TV and radio personality

76. Lockwood Smith NZ High Commissioner to UK

78. Alan Bollard, former governor of the Reserve Bank of NZ

79. Grant Kereama, radio personality

79. Leighton Smith, radio personality

79. Mike Bush, Police Commissioner

79. Graeme Hart, businessman

79. Billy Graham, motivational speaker

79. Mai Chen, lawyer

85. James Wallace, businessman, philanthropist

86. John Key, Prime Minister

87. Gareth Morgan, philanthropist, businessman

88. Gary Taylor, environmentalist

89. Bob Jones, businessman

90. Pita Sharples, Minister of Maori Affairs

91. Metiria Turei, Green Party co-leader

91. Russel Norman, Green Party co-leader

93. Michael Fay, businessman

94. Matt McCarten, Labour chief of staff

94. Bunny McDiarmid, Greenpeace executive director

96. Winston Peters, New Zealand First leader

97. David Cunliffe, Labour Party leader

98. Michael Laws, former Wanganui Mayor

99. Kim Dotcom, internet entrepreneur

100. Hone Harawira, Mana Party leader

source: data archive