Scott Morrison named Australia’s Prime Minister

News 24/08/2018
Photo: AAP.

Scott Morrison is the new Liberal Party leader and the prime minister of Australia, after winning the leadership contest against Peter Dutton.

The second round of voting resulted with 45 votes to Mr Morrison, and 40 to Mr Dutton. Despite losing, Peter Dutton has pledged his loyalty to Scott Morrison.

Mr Morrison, who was serving as Treasurer, will become Australia’s 30th prime minister.

The leadership race is finally over.

The 50-year-old will take over from Malcolm Turnbull for the role on Friday.

Regarded by many as “ScoMo”, he has been a MP since 2007, entering Parliament as a representative in the NSW seat of Cook.

Josh Frydenberg, minister for the Environment and Energy, has been elected as deputy leader.