LISTEN: Yusuf Islam (Cat Stevens) releases updated 'Tea For the Tillerman' tracks

music news 12/08/2020

Yusuf Islam (a.k.a. Cat Stevens) has reimagined his 1970 album with a new recording of the classic album.

Titled Tea for the Tillerman², the album is due for release on 18th September, half a century after the original era-defining album was released.

In an interview with RollingStone, Yusuf explained the rerecording, "One of them was that we knew we were coming up to the 50th birthday of the friendly face, Tillerman, and we wanted to do something special for him. And we thought about it, and my son Yoriyos came up with the idea of, 'Why don't we record it again?' I suddenly thought, 'Hang on. We could. There's nothing to stop us.' That was the first ignition of the idea."

You can see the full tracklist at the end of the page. The album is available for pre-order now.

Listen to Where Do the Children Play?, On the Road to Find Out, Father and Son below

Yusuf / Cat Stevens, 'Tea for the Tillerman2' Tracklist

  1. Where Do The Children Play?
  2. Hard Headed Woman
  3. Wild World
  4. Sad Lisa
  5. Miles From Nowhere
  6. But I Might Die Tonight
  7. Longer Boats
  8. Into White
  9. On the Road to Find Out
  10. Father and Son
  11. Tea for the Tillerman