Rugby World Cup 2019 - Coach Steve Hansen names All Blacks squad for title defence

Sports News 28/08/2019

The All Black squad defending the title for the Rugby World Cup have been named on Wednesday at noon. Some immediate notes include:

  • Jordie Barrett makes the cut
  • Liam Squire is not there
  • Atu Moli replaces Owen Franks
  • Crotty in, Laumape out
  • Luke Jacobson chosen after just 10 minutes of international rugby

The full list of names, read out by NZ rugby chair Brent Impey in alphabetical order:

Beauden Barrett, Jordie Barrett, Scott Barrett, George Bridge, Sam Cane, Dane Coles,Liam Coltman, Ryan Crotty, Jack Goodhue, Rieko Ioane, Luke Jacobson, Nepo Laulala, Anton Lienert-Brown, Atu Moli, Joe Moody, Richie Mo'unga, TJ Perenara, Kieran Read (captain), Sevu Reece, Brodie Retallick, Ardie Savea, Aaron Smith, Ben Smith, Angus Ta'avao, Codie Taylor, Matt Todd, Patrick Tuipulotu, Ofa Tu'ungafasi, Brad Weber, Sam Whitelock and, Sonny Bill Williams.

Stay tuned to Magic Talk for all the latest Rugby news.

Newshub reporter Grant Chapman