Opinion

OPINION: Oranga Tamariki needs to stop being so divisive

OPINION: There are many people who have written columns about what Oranga Tamariki should and shouldn’t do.

24/09/2021

Ryan Bridge: People need to stop teasing vaccine-hesitant people

20/09/2021

Ryan Bridge: The Govt's COVID-19 messaging is all over the shop - do lockdowns stop when enough Kiwis are vaccinated?

OPINION: The Government's been caught short again - this time, lacking a clear strategy to get us out of dodge., writes Ryan Bridge.

14/09/2021

The Government has proven themselves incapable of forward-planning

OPINION: It looks like Jacinda Ardern is cancelling Christmas for Kiwis stuck overseas.

02/09/2021

Peter Wiliams: Such a nonsense splitting a road in half between Levels 3 and 4

OPINION: People drawing lines on maps really haven't got a clue., writes Peter Williams.

31/08/2021

Peter Williams: Are we still a nation of dobber-inners?

As of yesterday, 11,816 possible breach notifications had been notified to either the 105 number or online. Shouldn’t we just mind our own business?

30/08/2021

Dr Parmjeet Parmar: How is it fair for the Government to take our public sector essential workers for granted?

Just like our previous lockdowns, they are again putting their lives on the line for all of us, and this time they are facing the risk of Delta.

30/08/2021

Ryan Bridge: What if Delta comes back in a month? 'We're still sitting ducks'

The PM says vaccines save lives and we need to have as many people vaccinated as quickly as possible. But here's the problem for Jacinda...

25/08/2021

ACT MP Chris Baillie: There's something wrong with education in New Zealand

OPINION: Changes to NCEA Level 1 Accounting, Business Studies, and Economics, all becoming a generic "commerce", show this Government's priorities.

16/08/2021

Peter Williams: Get that divisive cancel culture out of New Zealand

Opinion: Being offended by what someone says is a small price to pay in a free and democratic society.

16/08/2021

Peter Williams: Are Cantabrian's getting value for money with the new stadium?

OPINION: I'm not certain the extra $50 million spent on the stadium will be economically beneficial to Christchurch.

13/08/2021

Peter Williams: Hurricanes fans, TJ Perenara - Troy Bowker is not racist

OPINION: The insipid cancel culture is doing a lot of damage to NZ, writes Peter Williams.

12/08/2021

Peter Williams: Are you quaking in your boots over the IPCC report?

OPINION: My message to the hand wringers of the IPCC - get China and India to stop gas emissions first.

10/08/2021

Duncan Garner: When does our luck run out?

This ship should barely have been allowed into New Zealand waters, let alone pull up in one of our major ports, writes Duncan Garner.

10/08/2021

Peter Williams: Wasn't the media coverage of the Olympics disappointing?

OPINION: No money, poor quality reporting of the greatest sporting event in the world, writes Peter Williams.

09/08/2021